Little (Foodie) Things

I’ve been trying to write this post since Saturday, but I’m having a hard time figuring out what to say. Nothing too dramatic; I just had a downer day and was surprised at how quickly my mood plummeted, without much cause. I felt like I was fighting against a strong current; luckily that desperate mood doesn’t hit me too often. After a Skype chat with Benton, a long walk with Rachel, and a round of free drinks from Julia, I felt ten times better waking up Sunday. There were a few other high points to the weekend, such as dinner from Pitfire Pizza, my favorite pizza spot in LA. Summer always seems to start and end later here, and even the restaurants are hanging on to seasonal menus as the warm weather perseveres. This pie had heirloom tomatoes and homemade ricotta and was pretty darn amazing.

Despite being in a funk on Saturday, I managed to make a batch of homemade soft pretzels. It probably didn’t help my mood when I carb-loaded and ate pretzels for breakfast, lunch and snack. I personally think these are only really excellent on the day they’re baked (hot out of the oven is best), which is good enough reason to devour a dozen.

One response to “Little (Foodie) Things

Leave a Reply

