Easy Art

I don’t own a lot of art. Let’s face it, art is expensive! In college, I plastered my walls with Monet posters and postcards but now that I’m older, I find myself steering away from mass produced pieces, and I’ve gotten a little better at taking my decorating skills from decidedly homemade to wow-you-did-that-yourself?! It amazes me how much a frame can elevate a simple picture. In fact, two of my very favorite pieces in the apartment are a small sketch from my cousin (thank you Roger!) and a reprinted photo torn straight from the pages of Real Simple. I framed them both and BAM! Suddenly my walls look about 20x cooler.

DSC_0185

DSC_0174

DSC_0179

I had to steal a frame from the den (or “relaxation room” as we like to call it) for the bedroom and found myself with a gaping hole on the wall and nothing to hang. Enter a white frame, clean lines, a thick mat, and a $2 piece of scrapbook paper. I love how the colors work perfectly with all the surrounding frames, and best of all, if I decide to change my mind, I’m only out two bucks. The design reminds me of cross-section tree rings, which blends well with the pressed flowers.

DSC_0167

DSC_0168

I’m not on Twitter but am turning into an Instagram fiend. Twitter bores me (like status updates on Facebook…who cares?!) but I love taking pictures and applying cool filters. I get to practice my visual eye without lugging around a camera. Recently, I turned some of my favorite shots into wall art thanks to Printstagram. It was so easy (are you seeing the theme here?).

DSC_0165 copy

Another favorite shop of mine is one canoe two. I love the look of letterpress overall but their colors/quality/design really stands out. We have the California state print hanging up and I’m still kicking myself for not ordering “Things that are Round” while it was still available!

DSC_0173 copy

3 responses to “Easy Art

  1. I love what you’ve done. There’s an air of simplicity, but the pictures have a certain depth.

Leave a Reply

