Simple Peanut Noodles

I finally caved and ordered PB2 off Amazon. I’ve been wanting to try it for a while and couldn’t find a substitute in-store. Apparently Trader Joe’s carried peanut flour for a while, but its since been discontinued, bummer. I’m a big peanut butter fan but had ideas on using this low calorie option in smoothies, oatmeal and sauces. If you’re not familiar with PB2, it’s basically just pressed peanuts, with most the fat and oil removed. I have absolutely nothing against peanut butter (or almond butter, yum) but didn’t want to add a large scoop to my breakfast every single day. I mix PB2 with hot cocoa powder (any suggestions for a natural version?) and add it to dry, quick cook oats. With sliced banana on top, it tastes incredibly good and keeps me full for four hours. I’ve also been experimenting with peanut sauces. The trick is to combine equal parts PB2 and water before adding other ingredients, like sesame oil, soy sauce, ginger and/or lemon. Served with udon or soba noodes, some type of green veggie (broccoli, asparagus and sugar snap peas are my favorites), and topped with sesame seeds, this meal comes together so easily and tastes great warm or cold.

DSC_0193

dsc_0252

3 responses to “Simple Peanut Noodles

  1. Looks delicious. I always feel guilty making sesame noodles with a large scoop of peanut butter. I’ll have to give it a try.

Leave a Reply

