New Year Resolutions

In the last fifteen minutes of 2013, Kate, Marissa and I huddled together and talked about our resolutions for the next year. In years past, I’ve often made very specific goals but for 2014, I just want to create. If you’re thinking this sounds vague well yes, it certainly is, but for good reason. My mind is running with a million and one projects that I often don’t take the time to pursue or complete. Yet when I do, I feel so rewarded. Whether it’s in the realm of cooking, blogging, photography, home decor, etc., being creative is an outlet that keeps my life from feeling like an endless cycle of work/eat/sleep/repeat. Last night, I decided to make soup, based on this recipe.

carrot soup

Carrot Soup (serves 3)

one 1 lb. bag unpeeled carrots, washed and chopped
1 large yellow onion, diced
4 cups vegetable broth
3 tbsp olive oil
1 1/2 tsp herbs de Provence
1 tsp thyme
1 tsp dill
1/2 cup heavy cream
Greek yogurt to taste

Cook diced onion in olive oil (medium heat) until golden. Add carrots, vegetable broth and spices. Bring pot to a boil, then turn down the heat to low and simmer for 45 minutes. Add heavy cream and let cook for an additional 15 minutes. Puree using a blender (I used a Vitamix but an immersion blender would work nicely too!). Portion soup into bowls and top with Greek yogurt.

I served this soup with my favorite savory scone — a rosemary white cheddar version. I wish I could have gotten better photos in daylight but the food was especially delicious (and I had leftovers) which is all that really matters!

2 responses to “New Year Resolutions

  1. Yum!! I don’t have any specific goals either – but like you, I’d like to take some photography classes this year. Happy New Year Kate!

Leave a Reply

